Welcome to HiSILC

The Statewide Independent Living Council (SILC) is following the latest guidance from the federal government and other officials to stay away from groups, practice social distancing and travel for emergency purposes only. Please take care of yourselves including family, friends and neighbors during this difficult time.

Please remember to complete the 2020 Census form at 2020Census.gov and shape your community. Everyone is counted.


The mission of the Statewide Independent Living Council of Hawaii (SILC) is to promote independent living and the integration of persons with disabilities into the community and to aid individuals in achieving their goals and basic human rights.

Statewide Independent Living Council of Hawaii (SILC):

Statewide Independent Living Council of Hawaii (SILC) has council members that are appointed by the Governor. The majority of council members are persons with disabilities from communities statewide. The SILC is a not for profit, non-Governmental, consumer-controlled organization. The SILC works closely with Centers for Independent Living (CILs), the Designated State Entity (DSE) and consumers statewide to develop the three year State Plan for Independent Living (SPIL) as required by the Rehab Act of 1973, as amended by the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) of 2014. The council supports the independent living philosophy for everyone especially people with disabilities who expect equal access to employment, social, economic and political opportunities in their communities. The council also provides support and technical assistance to CILs in Hawaii.

UPDATE: March 23, 2020:
Due to the COVID-19, all meetings until further notice will be by teleconference. Please call the SILC office for additional information @ 808-585-7452 or by email to the SILC @ silced886@gmail.com.

SILC Council Members

Tammy Evrard – Chair
Roxanne Bolden, Executive Director, Aloha Independent Living Hawaii – Vice Chair
Annette Tashiro – Secretary
Laura Tobosa – Treasurer

Cathleen Enos
Scott Flaherty
Judy Guajardo
Linda Lambrecht
Maureen Bates, Administrator, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation, Department of Human Services, Designated State Entity (DSE) Ex-Officio non-voting member

Sheryl Nelson, Executive Director
Barbara Burton, Administrative Assistant